Uncategorized

hawaii five-o mason jar smoothies.

smoothie.png

You may see a lot more mason jar smoothie posts than this because I just can’t think of a better way to start my morning than without a fresh and healthy smoothie. Kid friendly!

I don’t know about you, but I’m one of those types of people that is ready to retire my winter peacoats by March. I develop a warmer mindset and think of cute warmer weather clothes and anticipate warmer weather plans. I also usually start running outside this month. This week, I clocked a 6:50 pace during the first mile and then a steady eight and nine minute pace which led to my best PR ever and not too shabby at all for the first run of the season. The month of March makes me feel positive about getting outside….and then not.

March has been like that old Katy Perry song, “Hot and Cold” lately. While it makes you optimistic, you can’t really put all of your eggs in one basket and depend on the weather at all. It may rain or snow like they are calling for the northeast this weekend. Not exactly reliable. That’s why I turn to my Hawaii Five-O Smoothie which is like a ray of tropical sunshine on a northeast March day that will keep your optimistic mindset warm and secure from those brisk, unpredictable March days.

It’s easy to make and you don’t even have to chop up any fruit if you have a high speed blender or immersion blender – it will take care of that. Just toss it in with a cup of creamy cashew milk and ice. For the tropical part, I like to add the juice of one blood orange and the juice of one regular orange juice to this but concentrated orange juice is fine too. It’s the quickest and cheapest way to transport you off to a warmer climate and talk about a burst of natural energy.

Hawaii Five-O Mason Jar Smoothie

1 Banana, unpeeled

1 cup of cashew milk

Juice of 1 blood orange

Juice of 1 orange

1 cup of strawberries

Ice

Blend into a high speed blender or immersion blender. What do you think? Did you try making this with the fresh oranges or do you still prefer concentrate orange juice? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment