Uncategorized

roast eggplant, pepper and turmeric pizza.


I never used to tolerate eggplant. I didn’t want to say I disliked it because I don’t dislike anything, but I knew my limitations. Let me preface, I loved food or thought I did. I craved junk. I ate McDonald’s a few times every week, bags of potato chips and had an odd fetish for ramen which I still occasionally enjoy from time to time. But my digestion suffered. It wasn’t until massage school and after relearning anatomy and working so closely with others did I really begin to examine myself. It took me awhile to heal myself but eventually I did. I began to study eating for health and did a total 180 with my diet when I made some groovy new plant based to vegan friends after I began to explore plant powered cooking. It was a gradual process but I neved regretted going back. And suddenly, I could savor meals without the anxiety about needing a bathroom. I also could savor nightshades like eggplant again.

This is a good thing because eggplant is an antioxidant powerhouse and it’s brain food. Also, the Orthodox Gentleman loves eggplant. Plant powered cooking has also encouraged me to learn about how to cook with different vegetables, how to create a flavor profile with spices and being creative. There are some cultures like the Indians to Middle East and into the Mediterranean that almost relies exclusively on plant powered cooking. 

And  between the Sunday of the Cross and Ladder Sunday, I wanted to try a roast eggplant and pepper pizza. It’s more than halfway through Lent so most of us are craving pizza by now, right? Making a fresh veggie pie at home doesn’t have to be complicated or require a multitude of steps. For one, a one or two step process is all you need for just vegetables which soften and roast when already placed on the pie and put on the oven of 350-400 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until crust is brown and crisp. 

And you know what usually makes a great pie? It’s usually the crust and the sauce. In this case, I mixed turmeric into the sauce. I once said pizza is so good that I can live on it, and if that’s the case, why not make it healthy?


For the dough, I would go with a naan style dough or Udi’s pizza dough. And Udi’s is usually gluten free as well for those who may be interested.
Roast Eggplant, Pepper and Turmeric Pizza (Vegan, Gluten-Free if using Udi’s, Soy Free, Olive Oil Free)

Serves 4 

For the sauce

1 cup of organic pizza sauce or homemade pizza sauce 

2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp fennel

1 tsp allspice

sea salt and pepper

For the pizza

1 bag shredded vegan mozzerella (For extra cheese, use 2 bags)

2 Chinese eggplant, sliced 

1 red bell pepper

2 cups of organic spinach

Method

Prepare the sauce by mixing spices and pizza sauce in a bowl. Spoon with a ladle onto pizza dough. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Layer with cheese, sliced eggplant, sliced bell pepper and spinach. Put into oven for 15-20 minutes or until crispy and brown. Slice  and serve immediately. 

Leave a Reply

