Uncategorized

mexican hot chocolate.


Growing up, I only could read by imagining the perfect cup of hot cocoa: creamy, chocolate filled to the brim with fluffy mini marshmallows and whipped cream. It looked and tasted like Christmas morning, a ski weekend or being snowed in. It should sound and taste decadent like the perfect thing to warm up to by the huge fireplace in ski lodges on ski trips with my dad. It’s part of the experience. To my disappointment, I remember pouring just hot chocolate  from a dispensor in a cafeteria where the afro mentioned Winter dreamscape lived in my imagination while I nursed a paper cup of instant Swiss hot chocolate from the cafeteria.


It satisfied me temporarily but I longed for the hot chocolate of my dreams. Food shouldn’t only bring satisfaction, but also experience. “You may call me a dreamer, but I’m not the only one….”


Who knew that it’s possible to create creamy, spicy hot chocolate at home….that’s also vegan?  Say, whaaaaaaat? 

The answer is mexican hot chocolate which is the ideal blend of sweet, spicy and creamy. True mexican hot chocolate requires heat as in a mexican chili but if you’re like most people and myself, you want to taste a dream without getting burned as in burning your tongue!  Just add a pinch of cayenne into the saucepan. 
It’s what all dreams should taste like. 
Mexican Hot Chocolate (Vegan, Soy Free)

Serves 2

2 cups of of cashew milk

1/4 cup of non dairy chocolate chips 

2 tbsp of  cacao powder (This is vegan cocoa powder.)

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp of nutmeg

cayenne, a pinch

vegan mini marshmallows (check health food stores)

Heat up a splash of milk in saucepan with the chips on medium heat. Allow chips to melt stirring. Once chips have melted, add in spices and rest of milk. Allow to simmer. Serve in cups or your cutest cups, top with marshmallows and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

