Uncategorized

morning power salad. 


There’s a lot of things I haven’t done that I’m finally getting around to….like pulling recipes from cookbooks I buy and stockpile instead of finding new recipes on Pinterest and other recipe blogs. There’s many as I’m not ashamed to admit that that’s partially what taught me how to cook.

Tosca Reno’s the Eat Clean Diet vegetarian cookbook is one. My dad gave it to me for my birthday aware of my interest in vegetarianism. It seems now that anyone with a blog or a little knowledge or cooking revelation has conspired to put out a fancy cookbook now. And there’s Tosca Reno’s easy to use and dietary restriction friendly format full of uncomplicated yet delicious recipes. 

One of the best examples here are her salads. I love her broccoli spinach strawberry macadamia nut salad only I use whatever greens the farmer has and I may swap out macadamia nuts…for silvered almonds. I may sprinkle in goji berries and turn it into a morning power bowl and then be conspired to sign up for bikram later. 

While I can’t guarantee this salad will turn you into a yogi, the strawberries, broccoli, greens, chia seeds and goji berries combine this into a vitamin and antioxidant powerhouse. 

If you can find goji berries, your mood will thank you and your energy level will soar. These dried, red berries have been used in traditional Chinese medicine for over 2,000 years. Some say that the berries were eaten by monks in the Himalayan Mountains thousands of years ago and steeped in hot water to help aid meditation and obtain greater health, vitality, longevity, energy and stamina. Goji berries aid in reducing inflammation. 

Strawberry Broccoli Spinach Salad 

Adapted from Tosca Reno 

4 cups baby spinach (I use any greens available)

2 cups raw broccoli florets

2 cups, freshly sliced strawberries

1/2 cup avocado, diced (I omitted it this time.)

1/4 cup macadamia nuts (I used slivered almonds in place.)

a handful of goji berries, optional 

DRESSING

1 Tbsp of low sodium soy sauce 

2 tsp of rice vinegar (I used mirin sauce.)

2 Tbsp of sesame oil

1 tsp of honey 

1/2 tsp of Dijon mustard 

1 Tbsp of chia seeds  


Leave a Reply

