Uncategorized

sugar free peanut butter milkshakes.

If there’s ever a time I “cheated” while being plant based, it’s during the summertime. I grew up in northeastern PA where nearly every town is famous for an ice cream parlor and then there’s Rita’s Italian Ice. I actually was never an Italian ice girl (though my Long Island friends keep raving about Ralph’s which I still have to try) so I reached out for an ice cream from my favorite spot or a milkshake from the diner. Perhaps it was only the lingering taste of nostalgia on my tongue but it was one of those summertime musts

Every summer went by…and I wondered how the thought of a vegan milkshake are not widely available or in reach. What would you use in place of ice cream? Wouldn’t it be extra sugary? Not a bad thing for some people, but others who may be health conscious may have that as their concern. I fall more in the latter camp. Plus, going out for a milkshake at the diner is a nice way to support those sweet Greeks at the diner and get served a milkshake in a 50’s style parfait….Instagram worthy, no?

And before I contemplated writing Vegan Treats (a gem of a mighty little bakery), I got the idea from a vegan friend that’s has been whipping up a similar concoction for awhile in her own home. It’s a vegan Wendy’s Frosty, she exclaims! The addition of peanut butter makes it decadent, she promises! No sugar either.

No sugar? Wait, tell ME more. I think I found my solution. 

Four ingredients

Five minutes.

Grab a plain drinking glass if you’re the Orthodox gentleman because you’re a man, or a parfait glass if you like to be fancy as well as a fancy drinking straw. I honestly don’t notice a difference. And this milkshake isn’t crazy thick either. The sweetness comes from the natural sugar from two frozen bananas or just two bananas (if you’re short on time, make sure you peel before freezing!) and cinnamon. Blended  bananas create a similar consistency similar to soft ice cream making them the perfect base for anyone who can’t have or doesn’t want to have sugar. Blend up with  sweetened almond or cashew milk of choice and ice.

 

Peanut Butter Milkshake (soy free, gluten free, vegan, sugar free)

1.5 cup of frozen bananas

2 Tbsp of peanut butter, crunchy or smooth as it doesn’t matter here 

1 Tbsp of cinnamon

2 cups of sweetened cashew or almond milk 

Ice 

Blend that puppy up and enjoy! 

From my kitchen, where nostalgia matters, to yours, 

Vanessa 

Leave a Reply

