Uncategorized

butternut squash and apple soup (vegan, gluten free, paleo, soy free.)


Some days, you feel as if you can take on the world. Other days, it feels like there’s not enough hours in a day to do what you need in the way you were always accustomed to doing tasks when it just feels like you used to have more time. Sounds familiar? 

It sounds so simple, really. I can read 50 Psalms today, do Pilates, go to the gym, get my work done and have a meal ready from scratch….when in reality, you read only 20, do your Pilates but skip the burpees (and maybe because there’s no time but because they’re burpees), do less time on the elliptical machine, skip the gym, get your work done, take care of the kids (if you have any), break something precious by accident while in the kitchen and sooner or later you’re finding yourself in the parking lot of Long John Silver’s with your significant other at night because you’re too tired to make squash soup from scratch but don’t want to go to bed hungry. Plus, them hush puppies though. 

An Italian friend of mine who enjoyed listening to Sinatra would always quote one of Old Blue Eyes’s songs to me whenever I had days like this: “That’s life.” I mean, it’s not that I’m trying to accomplish the impossible. Everything is within reach including trying to make squash soup from scratch. It’s just how I roll. Because even though I’m aware of the Amy’s canned brand, it just doesn’t quite taste the same and Whole Foods had a crazy good sale (Whoa, Whole Foods and crazy good sale in the same sentence? Not an oxymoron.) on squash, all types of squash: acorn, spaghetti and butternut. 

Ridiculous impulse move? Not really. Squash is a satiating and affordable fasting option that is also gluten free, paleo, low glycemic, and soy free. It’s also a nutrient dense antioxidant powerhouse and great for regulating and maintaining blood sugar levels. One butternut squash can feed an average sized family or use two if making in bulk. Butternut squash one of the best bets for an affordable, satiating and healthy supper.  And did I mention the sweet aroma of roasting butternut squash? 

Wait, no. Allow your apples to simmer in a steaming pot of squash and my my! Forget those hushpuppies, I’m not leaving this glorious aroma behind!

The recipe is not mine to give credit for but it’s something the Orthodox Gentleman gave me to try. He loves butternut squash soup but recently had a very good butternut squash and apple soup from the hot bar of a grocer. I, myself, tried a variety of butternut squash soup recipes striking gold when I tried Mi Lah’s recipe this summer. I remembered the smooth, velvet like consistency and the flavor component. One of the reasons I considered moving to Philadelphia was so I can get the soup more often. I at least never could get it to the same consistency at home. 

But you can. Oh, you can. You just need a Ninja, Vitamix or an otherwise very heavy duty blender. And I never had one until one of our loved ones surprised us with a Ninja at our wedding shower. I made a pact to myself that I wouldn’t open any of my gifts until after the wedding. Even the gifted wine. I’m clearly running for a record. 

But sometimes you have needs….genuine needs. It took some convincing of the Orthodox Gentleman but I finally come to face that my current small but mighty blender wasn’t going to hack it for this recipe. 

Once again, he was right. To my amazement, this recipe delivers the smoothest consistency out of butternut squash and apples. It freezes up to a few months which is about on average amount of time of a strict fast period. 

Butternut Squash and Apple Soup 

(Vegan, GF, Paleo, Diabetic Friendly, Soy Free)

$7 and under 

2 Carrots, chopped

2 Celery stalks, chopped

4 Tbsp vegan butter

2 Butternut squashes, peeled, seeds discarded

4 Red Delicious apples, cored, peeled, chopped

6 cups veg. Broth (about 2 containers)

2 cups pure water

1 Tablespoon each of Allspice and Cinnamon

Sauté the Carrots and Celery for 5 minutes in butter in the bottom of the soup pot on low heat.
Add the squash, apples, broth and water. Bring it all to a boil. Lower it to a simmer. Cook for 45 minutes. Stir it frequently.
Put in a blender, working in small batches, purée the soup adding cashew milk along with the Allspice and Cinnamon at this point.

Leave a Reply

