Uncategorized

breakfast sugar free granola.


Granola making is synonymous with life itself. It seems so simple and delicate from far away, but up close it can be a mess when a once great idea for a recipe crumbles on you turning into tragedy. Granola can be tragic? You may have the perfect recipe but it doesn’t clump right in the end or your edges burn…or the whole thing burns thinking you ruined a cookie sheet on top of it.

Why do we keep trying when we have doubts or know we failed before? Making granola has been a challenge for me to the point where I cringe at making my own granola and sigh with relief when I find some individually wrapped bars at my farmers market…in the prettiest packaging with ribbon…or how Pinterest suggests you can put out a basket of granola at your business or church potluck and then you are cringing again: That could be me. Wait, I’m better than this

Yes, that could be you too. And you are tons better than you know. 

And the granola can be sugar free. 

But wait…there’s more!

If you’re looking for perfect granola recipes, this one isn’t it but there’s about a zillion of them elsewhere online. I am still working on 

Most everyone knows two facts: good store bought granola is hard to find and granola isn’t just for hippies…though finding the perfect recipe may result in happy dances and happily feeling like one in yoga class. I am that type though. I like simple, easy and homemade recipes. I also love granola. I love spooning it into my cereal or atop to make parfaits or because I am almost always running late, it’s perfect to eat on the run. I think we become more determined by something if our hearts are in it. As Taylor Dayne once said, love will lead you back. 

I thought granola was a simple recipe. I think granola should be a simple recipe and I remained determined to make that happen. 

Most granola recipes seem to get lost in the details and forget about the technique. The truth of the matter is that all granola recipes will vary. Some like chia seeds in their granola, some like chocolate chips. And some cannot eat nuts. So, there’s no perfect recipe you should stick to. What is key to remember is making sure your granola batter is evenly coated, layer your baking sheet with parchment paper, allow to cool and use low heat. I tend to use honey or agave with coconut oil, the combination alone is savory with a dried fruit and nut blend. And whether you choose to layer your baking sheet or not, I found using low heat and a longer cooling process to be key to a firmer, chewier granola.

The process takes about an hour making it great to prep to put into the glass granola jar or spoon into parfaits so a healthy, satiating breakfast is all ready for the family to grab and go or a much healthier option for coffee hour…..because that’s how the modern family rolls these days, right?


Breakfast Granola (Vegan if substituting honey, Sugar Free if not using cranberries, Soy Free, Olive Oil Free, Low Carb if not using oats.) 

2 cups of oats 

1/2 cup of nuts (I usually buy a nut/seed mix in bulk from my local Amish market.)

1/4 cup of flax seeds 

2 teaspoons of cup of honey (or maple syrup or agave nectar for vegan granola) 

1/4 cup of dried cranberries 

1/4 cup of coconut oil, liquidity 

1 tsp of pink sea salt 

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Combine the oats and seeds on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Pop in oven for 15 minutes to toast the oats and seeds. Remove oats from oven and set aside. Take a bowl and add in your wet ingredients. Combine dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir to coat evenly before adding them into back onto the same  pan you used spreading evenly onto the pan and then pressing down on the granola and then pressing into the granola. 

Pop granola back into the oven for an hour and fifteen minutes. Remove allowing to cool for about two hours. Pop into the refrigerator for another two hours. 

Leave a comment