Uncategorized

crisp zucchini chips.

 

Although I acknowledge the perfectly imperfect human that I am, I also have acknowledged from quite some time my discomfort with being an ordinary or average person What is an ordinary or average person? Ordinary or average people, in my opinion, can be defined as those people that acknowledge their imperfections and leave it like that. They may also be very resistant to change or trying new things. And I for one am constantly working on my own self-improvement.

Take potato chips. Potato chips are about as necessary at a church potluck or parish picnic like coffee is to coffee hour for the Orthodox Christian. I don’t know what it is, but it’s rare that I haven’t met an Orthodox Christian who doesn’t have a mild potato chip obsession. Keep the “which brand is better” war to yourselves, please. They are pretty much empty calories but oh so satisfying especially the extra salty, flavorful kinds. They are perfect binge snack that lives in perfect marriage with Netflix marathons. Keep it up and it’s the only marathon most of us will do…. Whaaaat?

But just imagine vegetable chips.

zucchinichips.png

No, I’m not talking about those equally crunchy, empty calorie chips simply labeled vegetable chips at the supermarket. I am referring to actual vegetable chips that you bake for an hour bathed in oil and sprinkled in salt. Sliced zucchini provides a good base for this. What I do is I slice the zucchini thin and put them on a cookie sheet. I then brush them with oil and salt before I pop them in the oven on 300 degrees for about an hour. When they are ready, they come out crispy just like a potato chip but still with that leftover farm fresh taste of zucchini.

So, Netflix wants to know: Are you still going to continue watching?!   Grab your chips and press the button!

Crispy Zucchini Chips

Under $10

Serves 4

1/2 of zucchini, washed and sliced thin

1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil

sea salt and pepper, a dash

oregano, a dash

paprika, a dash

1.Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Grab a bowl and prep your oil mixture which you use to brush your zucchini with. Add in oil and seasonings.

2. Put zucchini slices on a cookie sheet and brush both sides of zucchini with the oil and spice mixtute. If you don’t have a brush, you can just pop the zucchini in the oil mixture and flip it around to make sure both sides are coated in the oil.

3. Bake zucchini circles for about an hour. Allow to cool for 5 minutes. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

