Uncategorized

Past Reflections of Lent 2016

Now that Lent is over, what will you be doing to improve your relationship with Him?  I could have did better at the fast this year like I picked up my smartphone more than I picked up a Bible. It’s not that I always didn’t have the time either but I never truly understood Scripture when I tried to read it – and even when I tried to interpret it, I was often wrong. There are no local study groups but I want to get back into it. As of late, I discovered SheReadsTruth which is a virtual women’s Christian bible study group that seems to discuss different parts of the Bible with the liturgical season and throughout the year. Although SheReadsTruth does not have any connections to Orthodoxy, we as Orthodox Christians are also bible based and should be open to opportunities to better our relationship with Him. If you participate or want to participate, let me know in the comments below. I would love to exchange insight from the study.

The current challenge just started today with Proverbs. It lasts for 28 days. As we Orthodox Christians are celebrating Easter this week, I am also doing two challenges this month and doing the SheReadsTruth Resurrection study challenge. I am excited to dive in.

A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion. Proverbs 18:2

 

This one hits home for me because I have grown to become a very opinionated person over the years. And as I pause to reflect, I wonder how fully accurate some of my past opinions really were…or could they have been better left unsaid?  Friends and followers and family reading this, I am sorry for anything I said that offended you. There’s always going to be something to say but timing, place, understanding and wisdom are all key to remember.

Proverbs teaches wisdom and understanding through God’s grace. In it we learn to become more instrumental in our words, thoughts and actions for Christ in our daily lives. This is something we especially focus on during Lent but now that Lent is over doesn’t mean I have to slip into old ways. If anything, I am someone that prefers to keep up the struggle, the climb and keep building the foundation. This Proverbs study couldn’t have come at a better time for me.

 

Snapshots of Lent 2016

Leave a Reply

