Uncategorized

healthy shamrock shake.

shamrockshake

 

I would say I am not a big fan of shamrock shakes but I try to be an open minded person. Shamrock Shakes earned it’s claim to fame via the McDonald’s Shamrock Shake where it’s perhaps the one time of the year where people still rush over to McDonald’s to get one. I tried the McDonald’s Shamrock Shake once a long time ago and hated it.It was so sweet. Upon reading the ingredients, I discovered it was a chemical farm packed with a 93grams of sugar. Sugar causes inflammation  in everyone – especially in high amounts. There has to be another way and there is.

I know shamrock shakes are one of the only indulgences that I get to have when it comes to celebrating St. Patrick’s Day. I am zero percent Irish and St Patrick’s Day always falls during Lent making parties and debauchery not exactly first priority on my radar. I know, I know. I’m young! Right? Right. And the ingredients in my shamrock shake keeps me young.

Mine is packed with antioxidents, real vitamins and minerals. Making your own shamrock shake is easy and can be customized to your liking. The only way this smoothie becomes green is by the greens from plants you add to it. And don’t worry, that shamrock plant was not harmed in the making of this recipe – though some plants were. Sorry, those who have some odd aversion to eating plants. You can even try adding an avocado but I find that adding a cup or a cup and a half of spinach is enough. Being plant-based, I love kale but I must say it’s a little too bitter in this recipe. Other than that, there’s no sugar minus the natural sugar what comes from the both bananas and the vanilla extract if you’re adding vanilla. The mint flavor comes from the peppermint extract which has therapeutic properties on it’s own like it can help with pain relief, digestion, and absorption of digestion when mixed with other nutrients and vanilla extract with milk. You can use organic milk but if you’re fasting or avoiding dairy, I prefer cashew milk in my drinks because it lends off a nice creamy texture. And that’s all you need.

kiwanomelon.png

Oh, I got exotic and added in a kiwano melon that I found at Wegmen’s – kiwano melons taste like a cross between a banana, a watermelon and a cucumber. It contains linoleic acid as well as sodium, potassium, calcium and iron making it great to put it this smoothie after a hard workout and it can also protect your eyes. Honestly, if you can find kiwano melons (they are of African descent) at your market, I wouldn’t skimp on this and it doesn’t change the flavor composition one bit.

shamrockplant.png

Like my new shamrock plant?

 

Healthy Shamrock Shake

Serves 3

2 Bananas

1 cup of milk

1 cup and a 1/2 of fresh spinach

1/4 teaspoon of peppermint extract

1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 kiwano melon

Put all ingredients in a high speed blender or immersion blender. Blend until smooth and frothy. Pour into a glass and add a pretty straw. Take it from me. You need a pretty straw!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “healthy shamrock shake.

Leave a Reply

